Just Announced: Mary Timony Will Take Helium Songs on Tour This June


Photo by James Smolka

Long before D.C.’s own Mary Timony played in Ex Hex and Wild Flag, she was the vocalist and guitarist for Helium in the ‘90s. Over the course of their six year run, the band released a handful of albums, EPs and singles that are now being re-issued on vinyl nearly 20 years after Helium’s break up via Matador Records.

The re-release—slated for May 19–includes their two full-length albums: 1995’s The Dirt of Luck and 1997’s The Magic City, which has been expanded into a double LP featuring tracks from the No Guitars EP. Matador will also release a new 19-track compilation, Ends with And, featuring unreleased demos, b-sides and other rare singles.

The label also released their single “Hole in the Ground” and a remastered version of their “XXX” video on YouTube (which you can watch below). If you pre-order the Ends with And compilation you’ll get an instant download of these two songs.

There’s also another treat for all the Helium/Timony fans: she’s also hitting the road this June, playing Helium songs with Hospitality’s Brian Betancourt and David Christian. The tour kicks off in D.C. on June 6 at Rock and Roll Hotel, and tickets go on sale this Friday, March 24 via Ticketfly. Check out the tracklist for Ends with And below and videos for “Hole in the Ground” and “XXX.”

Ends with And
tracklisting :
1. Baby Vampire Made Me
2. XXX
3. OOO
4. Love $$$
5. Lucy
6. Termite Tree
7. Hole In The Ground
8. Magic Box
9. Superball (Demo)
10. What Institution Are You From?
11. Lucky Charm
12. #12 L’Enfant
13. I Am A Witch
14. Ghost Car (Demo)
15. Puffin Stars
16. Leon’s Space Song (Demo)
17. The Dragon #1
18. Fantastic Castle
19. Golden Bridge (Demo)